top of page

CERAnade Yourself

Energy honorees announced for approaching CERAWeek

Senior executives and founders of eight companies selected as 2022 "Energy Innovation Pioneers" will present at CERAWeek by IHS Markit—an energy conference set to take place March 7-11 in Houston.

The Energy Innovation Pioneers program, held annually at CERAWeek, "identifies the most innovative new technologies and business models across the energy spectrum based on judging criteria that includes creativity, feasibility of plan, scalability of technology and leadership," according to a February 24 e-mail sent to Electrical Apparatus. The program is now in its 17th year.

This year’s honorees represent the diverse supply of innovation enabling the transition towards a lower-emissions future, ranging from those that are working to enable zero-carbon energy systems (such as enhanced geothermal, electrical grid modernization, fusion energy and hydrogen production) as well those working to decarbonize the existing system (carbon capture, energy recovery, flare gas recovery and residential cooling). The 2022 class of Energy Innovation Pioneers includes:

  • Anax Power – Michael Longo, co-founder and head of business development

  • Carbon America – Brent Lewis, CFO and co-founder

  • Commonwealth Fusion Systems – Bob Mumgaard, co-founder and CEO

  • Emvolon – Emmanuel Kasseris, CEO

  • Fervo Energy – Tim Latimer, CEO

  • Transaera – Sorin Grama, co-founder and CEO

  • TS Conductor – Jason Huang, CEO

  • SAFCell – Dr. Calum Chisholm, CEO

During CERAWeek 2022, the Energy Innovation Pioneers will participate in Agora Studios sessions exploring the role startups and their innovations are playing to advance decarbonization of the global energy system:

CERAWeek and Innovation Agora delegates are also invited to attend Agora Pod sessions where each Pioneer will provide an interactive presentation about their company and technology. These presentations are concurrent with the main conference agenda.

“Transitioning the global economy to a lower emissions energy system will require innovations not just in technology, but also in how they are brought to market and scaled,” said Carolyn Seto, director, technology and innovation practice, IHS Markit and Energy Innovation Pioneer chair. “Through their vision and perseverance, the solutions developed by this year’s class of Pioneers are setting the pace and the path towards a low carbon future.”

“We are pleased to honor the 17th class of Energy Innovation Pioneers at CERAWeek by IHS Markit,” said Daniel Yergin, vice chairman, IHS Markit and CERAWeek conference chair. “The theme of this year’s CERAWeek, ‘Pace of Change’ speaks to overcoming the challenges and seizing the opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy. These eight companies and entrepreneurs embody the next wave of innovation that will set the pace in shaping that energy future.”

“The Energy Innovation Pioneers program is an essential part of CERAWeek, just as innovation and technology are at the center of energy industry,” said James Rosenfield, senior vice president, IHS Markit and co-chairman of CERAWeek. “We are pleased to honor this year’s class of pioneers that are blazing new trails of innovation across the global energy landscape.”

CERAWeek 2022: Pace of Change: Energy, Climate and Innovation will examine the challenges and opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy in the era of energy transition. The conference is returning to Houston for its 40th annual gathering after being hosted as an all-virtual event in 2021.

24 views0 comments


bottom of page